WFMW- Septic Tanks

 

Septic tanks need maintenance!  Without it they can get into serious trouble and cost a lot of money so I thought I would pass on a few tips that I have learned from professionals. 

Instead of spending a lot of money on products like Rid-x and such you can buy the small packets of yeast for 50 cents each or less.  The yeast provides the cultures needed to get your septic system to “cook” and breakdown its contents.  Each month put one packet of yeast in a glass of warm water and allow it to sit for about 10 minutes.  Stir the contents well and then flush it down a toilet.   It works magnificantly!

The only product I have ever had recommended to me was Root Kill.  I got mine at Lowe’s.  It is not used in place of the yeast.  It works in your pipes and field lines as well by killing any roots that have grown into them.  Roots can cause major headaches with backups and such so they need to be taken care of.   I suggest putting the Root Kill in 2 weeks before you put in your yeast.  It will have a chance to work and then the yeast will replace any good bacteria that were affected by the Root Kill.

Happy septic systems= Happy and Frugal Homeowners!!

That is my WFMW tip.  For more tips and tricks visit Rocks in My Dryer

4 responses to “WFMW- Septic Tanks

  1. Great post! We use rid-x but I had no idea about the root kill. Our septic tank is one side of a large oak tree and the field line runs past said oak…its definitely something I’ll look into. we’ve only been here 5 years and had no problems yet, but I’d rather be proactive than reactive. Thanks!

  2. I don’t have a septic tank, but for some reason I was fascinated by the yeast solution. Maybe because digestion in general is interesting. Glad your septic tank is happy!

  3. I am so glad to know this!! We have a fairly new septic system but have already had problems with it – one of those “if I knew then what I know know now” things.

  4. Hi-back in June I had my septic pumped. In September I had water standing in my yard yet again. No back ups in the house like before but water in the yard. My neighbor told me my field lines must be clogged-they snaked the line from the house to the septic tank. I can’t imagine roots being a problem because we have shrubs against the house, the one pine tree was killed by hurricane Ivan, could it be an issue with grass roots? I researched septic issues so well before forking over the big bucks to get it pumped only to be almost back where we started a few months ago. Very frustrating.

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

