WFMW- shiny shoes

If you have leather, fake leather or shoes like those (smooth, shiny shoes) you can take some VO5 hair creme and a paper towel and give your shoes a big boost.  It covers scratches beautifully, shines up well and keeps the shoe from drying out.  There is no coloring to rub off on your clothes and if you are pressed for time to get to work, church or an evening out this tip is fast!  This works great on kids dress shoes as well.

I wanted to add to last week’s WFMW about getting laundry really clean.  If you do not have any oxiclean or you have some old or really set in stains you can dissolve 1/2 cup of Arm and Hammer Super Washer Soda in a glass of hotwater.  Add the liquid to your washer, let it fill and start washing long enough to thoroughly mix it into your clothing.  Turn off the washer and let sit over night.  In the morning add detergent and wash as usual.  I am amazed at some of the old, set in stains that this (or the Oxiclean liquid) has gotten out.   For more of the WFMW’s visit Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer.  You can click WFMW in my catagories to find archived entries. 

9 responses to “WFMW- shiny shoes

  1. I can’t wait to try this! Thanks for the tip!

  2. My mom tells me that her grandmother used to shine her patent leather shoes with the inside of a biscuit. That cracks me up!

  3. I like your tips. I’ll have to get some VO5.

  4. This is a great tip! I would NEVER have thought of this one on my own!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Mrs. Brownstone @ XBOX Wife
    http://xboxwife.blogspot.com/

  5. Hey, you snuck two tips for the price of one. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! What a great way to care for shoes and keep them shiny.

    Duckabush Blog

  6. Great tip – I’m sure any hair product will work? I don’t use V05 but I’ll try my current stuff 🙂

    Organising queen and
    Marcia’s take charge blog

  7. Can’t wait to try this on all my payless shoes!

    http://tonsofsons.wordpress.com/

  8. I didn’t know they still made that stuff! My mom used to put it in our hair as a detangler. Baby ChubChub is finally old enough to wear fancy shoes; I’ll have to pick some up! Thanks for the tip.

  9. I’m going to have to definitely try this one…thanks!!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

