WFMW- really clean clothes

We are constantly being given hand me downs by wonderful people but sometimes they do not always look so great.  A friend of mine told me a great way of really cleaning them and I have to say that it works!  Load up whatever it is that you need washed and refreshed- I usually do this right before I go to bed.  Do not add laundry detergent at this time.  All you put in is a cup of oxiclean liquid or clorox 2.  Allow the washer to fill and wash enough to distribute throughout the clothing.   Stop the washer.  Let it set.  You can leave it anywhere from 2-8 hours depending on the stains and if you are going to let them set overnight.  When you are ready to restart the clothes just add detergent then and let it wash as normal.  I have done this with clothing of every size and it gets them so clean!  I even do this with a front load washer.  I choose to put the washer on rinse and spin then restart it with detergent but you do not have to.  It works great for me and I hope you have just as great of a success!

For more tips on all kinds of things visit Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer.

7 responses to “WFMW- really clean clothes

  1. Great tip! I use Biz, though…had a few baby items get bleached out with the Oxiclean.

    Edited by Rhen- the powder has the tendency to do that. That is why I suggested oxiclean liquid. 🙂

  2. that’s a great tip!! Thanks 🙂

  3. that is a fabulous tip. i use oxi clean in addition to my detergent but never ever thought to just let the clothes sit. my boys are famous for the grass stains on their knees and juice on their shirts.

    thanks a bunch ~jenn

  4. That is a great tip, my husband is always getting dirty working in the garage, some of his things are really grungy… Thanks

  5. Great tip! Oxiclean is fabulous!

    http://xboxwife.blogspot.com/

  6. Wow, I have never heard of this before. Does it work on stains that have been through the dryer? I have some of those sitting around waiting for a solution to arise.

  7. Pingback: WFMW- shiny shoes « Yes, They Are All Mine

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

