WFMW- Organizing Kids’ Puzzles

With 6 children I find that we have a lot of “stuff” for them to play with, learn with and the like.   One of their favorite things to do are puzzles.  Puzzle boxes, though, do not last at all.  They tear at the corners and then start spitting pieces all over the place.  The boxes also take up a lot of shelf space and shelf space is at a premium here!  When we get a new puzzle (or new to us) I get an appropriate sized plastic storage baggie to put it in.  I cut the picture of the puzzle off of the box and put it facing out in the bag and then fill the bag with the puzzle pieces.   The picture lets you know which puzzle is in there and how many pieces it has.  I have a clear tub (15 qt.) for the puzzles that has over 20 puzzles in it.  They take up far less space and we lose far fewer pieces.   Hope it works just as well for you!
~Rhen
For more great WFMW tips head over to Shannon’s blog Rock in My Dryer
9 responses to “WFMW- Organizing Kids’ Puzzles

  1. That is a great idea. I’ve thrown away so many puzzles pieces that have leaked out of their boxes that I finally just banned puzzles from the house.

  2. I do this too! Our shelves were having difficulty accomodating all of our puzzles. But putting them into bags, and the bags into a bin, freed up a bunch of shelf space!
    Super tip!

  3. What a great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  4. We do this too and it works so much better than keeping them in boxes.

  5. We’ve just started collecting boxed puzzles (big-boy upgrade from the simple wood ones.) This is a great streamlining storage idea! Thanks.

  6. Terrific idea! We toss cardboard and/or flimsy containers immediately too. With as many toys as we have, organization and durability are a must!

  7. That is a great idea! I’m going to try it!

  8. I love this idea! We don’t generally lose too many pieces, but the boxes take up so much space! I’m glad that I popped over here to meet you – I’ll be back. :^)

  9. I will have to do this with all the flat boxes we have. I don’t know exactly what happens to them but this is the perfect solution.

    Great tip!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

