Its a great chicken day!

Today is the first day the our Buff Orpintons have been let out to freerange.  They are now 8 -9 weeks old and looking like mini chickens.  They are such a beautiful gold color!  Another 3-4 months before they start laying but the Dominikers and the Araucanas should start laying any time now.  The rare chick that came with my order is a Blue Andalusion and it is a rooster.  I can’t wait to see him full grown.  A Blue Andalusion and Buff Orpington would be a pretty interesting combination.  Hopefully when I start incubating next year I will get a few of the mixed eggs to hatch out.  We have 2 Dominikers- one hen, one rooster.  We have 2 Araucanas- one hen, one rooster.  We have 22 or so Buff Orpingtons.  In the next couple weeks they will really start showing whether they are hens or roosters.   We only need 2 or 3 roosters.  The rest will go in the freezer.  Now I just have to decide which ones to keep.  I will post a few pictures later.  All for now!

All for His glory, ~Rhen

Update~  It was a successful chicken day!  We did not lose any of the young chickens.  They all made it back inside the chicken house to roost for the night.  My older chickens were so happy to get back out and freerange.  The ducks hit their pond first thing and I had to get them out of it tonight so I could lock everybody up.  🙂  All is good on the homestead!

One response to “Its a great chicken day!

  1. What a great entry to read.
    Thanks for sharing!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

