How great is God!! or Heebie Jeebies

I have a totally scary story to share.  It is a snake story.  A slithering, sneaky snake story.  Yesterday Short Man, Ms. Firecracker and Ms. Banana were outside playing by the van in the front yard.  They were walking on the rail road ties that seperate the driveway from the front yard.  As Ms. Banana (age 4) was standing there a snake came out from under the tie, curled around her foot, opened its mouth and struck her foot but not hard.  It did not go through her shoe and sock.  THANK YOU GOD!!!!!  Short Man came running inside yelling that there was a rattlesnake and it tried to bite Ms. Banana.  I grabbed my .22 and headed outside.  It was gone by the time I got there.  We couldn’t find it yesterday.  I had no way of knowing what kind of snake it was ( we have seen a black rat snake that is not poisonous).  Now onto today.  When Mr. Muscles came home he and several of the kids went outside to find the snake.  They had to stand far back while Daddy moved the tie to see if he could find it.  He did.  It was staying cool under the same tie in an area some animal had tunneled.  It was a copperhead.  Yes, a pit viper.  A  poisonous snake.  Again, THANK YOU GOD!!!  The bite yesterday did not go through her shoe and into her little foot.  Oh My Goodness!!  I just can’t bear to let my mind wander on this one!  The snake disappeared down a hole.  We got the hose and ran water but it never came out.  Daddy filled the hole in and tamped it down HARD.  I know the hole will come out somewhere else but at least that exit is no longer an option for the snake.  We even turned over the other ties to make sure there was no snake.  I am hoping we can find it and kill it.  If not I will be crazy.  How can I let the kids go out with a copperhead running loose!?   I have the heebie jeebies now.  All for His glory, ~Rhen

2 responses to “How great is God!! or Heebie Jeebies

  1. Wow! Praise the Lord your DD was not bitten! I would never let my kids out LOL.

    DesertOasis from HSteadblogger

  2. That’s insane! I would have totally freaked out. Most likely we would have moved out that night and never returned!!! I love that you went and got a .22. Now that’s taking care of business! I’m thankful the snake did not harm.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and thanks for adding me to your blog roll!!! So much fun!

    Blessing,
    Georgia Mom

    ~By Rhen~ We are selling but we are staying in the area. I pray we can find another house to buy. The problem is that these snakes are all over GA- especially up here in the mountains! Ugh!!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!

