WFMW- Flubber!

Yes, flubber!!  I was going to post this as a Homeschooling project idea but then I thought more than just homeschoolers can have a lot of fun with this so it is my WFMW tip.   This is perfect to make for parties, babysitting or just a day when the kids need something to do. 

This stuff is great because it is not too messy (unlike that absolutely horrible Floam junk), kids have a blast with it and I can tell you the Homeschoolers will be turning this into a way-cool science lesson.  That includes our family.  :0)

Here is what you will need:

Mixture 1:  3/4 cup of warm water

                     1 cup of Elmer’s glue

                     food coloring- your choice of colors

Mixture 2:  2 tsp borax

                     1/2 cup of warm water

Here is how you make it:

Stir mixture 1 together in one bowl, mixture 2 in another bowl. 

Make sure both are mixed well. 

Pour mixture 1 into mixture 2. 

No need to stir, just reach in and pull out a glob of flubber! 

Work it for 2 or 3 minutes.

___________________________________________________

This is a lot of fun for everyone and the kids will go crazy!  I am not sure how it well it comes out of carpeting so please take care with that.   

For many more great WFMW tips head over to Rocks in My Dryer.

8 responses to “WFMW- Flubber!

  1. Oh cool! My Ashley loves floam, so she will love making flubber, I’m sure! Thanks for sharing it with us.

    blessings,
    Lori

  2. wow that looks like a lot of fun…I’m going to have all three of the kids try it out Friday, and if we like it, we’ll do it for the *almost* 5-year-old’s 5th birthday party Saturday 🙂

    Thanks!

  3. Looks like fun just waiting to happen! Thanks for the recipe.

    I’m enjoying getting to read your site. The name cracks me up! It’s a question I, too, get anytime we are in public which I think is hilarious because we all look alike. Oh course they are mine:)

  4. this looks like fun! The kids would love it! Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Your map looks awesome!

  5. How well does it come off hands/tables?

    Edited by Rhen~ I have not found it to stick to hands and it wipes right off of hard surfaces like counters, tables, stoves, cutting boards, sinks and such. Clean up is easy.

  6. Oh, where were you an hour ago? I just made a nasty mess tring to make flubber with an obviously BAD recipe. I have chunks of green sticky mess everywhere right now.

  7. Oooo. I can’t wait to try this!
    Thanks!

  8. My girls have always loved flubber and that recipe is the best one I’ve used. Just a cautionary note- be very careful not to get it in your hair. My two year old ended up with a hair cut a few years back due to a freak flubber accident!

Your comment makes my day and lets me know you are here!